BOOK BLOG TO BOOK DEAL: TOR UK ACQUIRES DE JAGER’S DEBUT NOVEL

We are too, too excited today to be getting out some news we've been sitting on for a short while -- not sure we could have kept it in any longer to be honest! Those who know the lovely Liz will know she's been working on a sekrit project for quite some time. And here's the low-down on that project below, which was sent out as a press release today ...

Pan Macmillan’s Tor imprint is delighted to announce the acquisition at auction of an exciting young adult trilogy – by blogger-turned-author Liz de Jager. Senior Commissioning Editor Bella Pagan bought World Rights, excluding USA/Canada, via Juliet Mushens of the Agency group and the series starts with The Blackhart Legacy. The books are contemporary YA urban fantasies set in our world, but here fairytale legends exist. And only one family – the Blackharts – are able to see fae interlopers, never mind fight them. Part Artemis Fowl, part Brothers Grimm, this is a rollicking and original read from a fresh new voice in YA fiction. This will be perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Melissa Marr.

Liz de JagerDe Jager said: ‘I’m thrilled beyond words to be joining the league of Tor UK authors. Tor has consistently published some of the best genre and YA fiction to be found in the market and for them to take on my three Blackhart Legacy titles is a dream come true. I believe Tor UK is the right home for Kit Blackhart and I cannot wait to share the first book in the series with you in early 2014.’

While writing her first book, Jager fostered her love of YA and genre fiction by developing the popular My Favourite Books review blog.  As a blogger, she has already spoken at publishing events on digital marketing and the importance of authors and publishers adapting to the digital age. 

Bella Pagan had this to say on the deal: ‘I adored Kit Blackhart and her story. But there is so much more here than even the wonderful characterisation and fast-paced storytelling. I was massively impressed by the convincing weight of worldbuilding that backs up The Blackhart Legacy. This is a book that first charms and excites, then sticks with you to demand a sequel!’

Juliet Mushens said: ‘I fell in love with the rich world that Liz de Jager has created as soon as I read the first page of The Blackhart Legacy. Kit is a fantastic YA heroine – whip-smart and feisty – and I can’t wait for a wider audience to meet her.'